Skip to content

Vanity Sizing

October 4, 2009

I like to think everyone has their one claim to vanity, even people who would normally laugh at the idea of caring what they looked like. I’m not sure why I like to think that, maybe because it often turns out to be true.

For some people, it’s all about the hair. Sure they might dress in second-hand clothes and claim to not give a damn about anything but their hair has that just perfectly mussed look that you know it’s taken them a tub of hair product to achieve the look. For some people, it’s shoes. The clothes might be cheap, the hair dirty but they have fabulous thousand dollar high heels or a different pair of skate shoes for every day. For some people, it’s jewellry. A huge diamond ring or and armful of jangly bracelets.

What’s my one claim to vanity? I might never wear brand clothes or make-up. I might let my hair go natural and wear $10 flats that are falling apart. But I always, always have my nails painted. The colour varies. Blue, black, red, purple, green…any colour. But there is always nail polish on my finger nails, and usually my toe nails too. 

I think nail polish as my one choice of vanity is a good one. Make-up washes off, hair product washes out. Clothes and shoes always have to be repaced. My nails can last up to a month looking flashy and new without repainting. Polish sticks to my nails like no one else’s I know. It’s time efficient. I don’t have to invest a lot of time or money to have great nails.

I think my nail-polish obsession could be blamed on my grandma. I’ve never seen her with bare nails. She’s had them painted forever, and she encouraged me to do the same. She would give me disapproving looks when catching me with chipped polish or ripped off nails. Maybe my one claim at vanity is really fear, but I still have one. Everyone does even if they don’t think they do.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

