Skip to content

Cupcake baking

September 14, 2009

I love to cook. When I feel down or am just having a crap day, food is always my comfort. Spending hours slaving over a hot stove to cook dinner makes me feel more relaxed and content. Nothing beats sitting down to a meal you’ve scraped together with your own hands.

Sadly, I haven’t done much cooking lately. Being incredily busy working, studying and maintaining something resembling a social life I haven’t baked cookies or a cake in months and I was feeling pretty miserable about it. And stressed, because when I don’t cook I get stressed. Despite cooking dinner last week (kafta curry, dahl, bread and rice) I still didn’t feel satisfied so I thought I’d sacrifice a night out to bake some cupcakes. After all, everyone knows cooking dinner is completely different from cooking dessert.

cropped-cupcakes-001.jpg

Was it worth it? Well, yeah. Cupcakes make me happy. How can they not, when they’re so perfectly sweet and light and fluffy? I found this particular recipe here and it really made my day.

I was reminded how much I love baking cakes and cookies and brownies, so I’ll probably be baking a lot this week to make up for it! I can’t wait to try these chocolate and cheesecake brownies. Luckily for me my mother’s birthday is next week so I can shower her in homemade gifts!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

