Skip to content

What is normal anyway?

August 31, 2009

There are two types of people in this world. People who will pay an extra $20 for checked luggage on a flight for a one week holiday, and people who won’t.

I am, of course, in the later category. And I appear to be the last person standing in that line.

I’m currently planning a holiday to the Gold Coast at the end of the year with a few friends. The Gold Coast is probably my favourite place in the world. It has the best beaches and thinking about a week with my best friend drinking cocktails and sunbaking fills me with a strange sense of happiness. But what I have realised during the ‘booking’ section of planning a holiday, is that I am completely different to my friends.

I’m kind of a bogan. Okay, not massively. But I like cheap local beer, and I swear too much, and footy is my religion. Whatever. In my family, I’m the heavy packer. My parents and brother think a pair of shorts and five t-shirts is sufficient for a week away, no matter where the week away is to. When we drove around America for two months I had by far the most stuff. And I only packed three pairs of shoes. It occured to me that what I packed for two months, most people (aka my friends) would pack for a weekend away. Clearly, I’m actually a light packer.

I cannot understand why, for one week away, you’d need five pairs of high heels, three make-up cases, a hair straightener, a hair dryer and another suitcase just for clothes. Especially for a summer holiday. For my summer holiday last year I packed 3 dresses, a pair of jeans, a singlet and my bathing suit. That was sufficient. This year I’ll probably pack something similar. I really can’t see why it’s neccessay to pack so much. One week is seven days. If you’re packing more than seven outfits you have too much stuff. And since you’re on holiday, do you really need to spend an hour doing your make-up and hair? You’re spending the day on the beach!

All of my friends ask me why I don’t want to pay extra for baggage, as if it’s my tight-arse tendancies (I don’t like wasting money. And hello, did they miss the memo on the global financial crisis?) causing me to demand a cheaper carry-on fare. It really isn’t. If I wanted to take more, I’d happily pay the extra. I just don’t see the point of paying for what I don’t want. I don’t want to take ridiculous amounts of clothes so I have to think about what I’m wearing. I don’t want to have to lug a huge suitcase through airports and up stairs. I really don’t want to have to worry about my make-up and hair on holiday, especially as I don’t usually anyway.

To me a beach holiday equals sand and surf and fish and chips and beer. It equals messy hair and lazy days and relaxation. Maybe I’m crazy. Maybe I’m the only person who can’t even imagine taking a suitcase to Queensland if I was staying a month. Maybe I’m not normal. Maybe there’s something very very wrong with me. But what is normal anyway?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

