Skip to content

Twilight haters anonymous

August 26, 2009

Am I the only girl in the world not looking for my own Edward or Jacob? I’m starting to really feel that way. Twilight, in case you’ve been living under a rock, is the biggest thing since Harry Potter. Stephanie Meyer’s books (and the movies that followed) featuring the forbidden love between vampire Edward and human girl Bella have become so popular it seems everyones read them. And everyone loves them.

Not wanting to be the last person ‘in’ on the phenomenon I eagerly agreed to borrow the first two books from a friend so I could be part of the craze with everyone else. At first I started getting into it. The first book started well and got kinda interesing and I ended up finishing the book the first night I started. Instead of happy and content though, I felt dissatisfied. I continued on with the second book as I’d promised my friends but by the end of that one I was downright miserable.

That’s when it hit me. I didn’t like Twilight. At all. I didn’t think there was anything that great about Edward or Bella, or their love. I found her wimpy and insecure. I found him creepy and uninteresting. I found their relationship to be unrealistic and pathetic. At the beginning the characters weren’t too bad. Kind of smart-arse, kind of funny. By the time they fell in love the humour was gone and replacing it was all-comsuming love that, frankly, I found rather disturbing. They were too desperate. They lacked a life outside of each other. They weren’t funny. The book had become a bland love story, and it didn’t even have any sex scenes to spice it up.

The second book was even worse. It was more desperate, more disturbing, and less interesting. I couldn’t even bring myself to read the next two. I just couldn’t bear it. It was too much for me.

I hate Twilight. While everyone else finds it romantic that Edward writes piano for Bella and watches her sleep, I find it creepy. Is there something fundamentally wrong with me? I can’t even bear to tell most people how distasteful I find Twilight. I always get looks of shock and disbelief. I find myself saying things like ‘I don’t mind Twilight, it’s just not my favourite…’ So not true. I don’t like Twilight. At all. I hate it.

There will always be a place for Harry Potter in my heart and my bookshelf. But those Twilight books? They’re going straight back to my friend.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 8, 2010 11:44 am

    I completely agree! I can’t stand Twilight. Bella is just such a week main character why does she always need Jacob or Edward to stand up for her? Hate it when my friends drag me to the movies to see it 😦

Leave a Reply

