Skip to content

Religion? Atheist.

August 16, 2009

I have no problem with religious people. If it makes people more happy and content in life I say go for it. As long as you’re happy at the end of the day it doesn’t matter. Just because I don’t believe in what I consider to be the adult fairytale doesn’t mean I judge others just because they do. I choose to put my faith in science.

What I can’t stand, however, is people who feel like it’s their role in life to convert other people to their chosen religion because everyone else really needs to be ‘saved’ or whatever. People who knock on my door at insane hours of the morning asking me if I have ‘found Jesus’. I have to respond to this with a smart arse comment. For example, ‘Yeah, I found him under my bed but then sadly was forced to throw him out with the rubbish.’ Ask a dumb question, get a dumb answer. Then there are the people reading bibles in the street and trying to force you to donate to their church. Right, because the Catholic Church is so broke. Then there are the people selling everything from bibles to rosaries. If I wanted to buy something, I would approach you. I simply find the attitudes of these people rude and disrespectful. I don’t run up to them with my chemistry textbooks telling them everything thing they believe is utter bullshit and here, buy this book about gravity because it will help you find Newton’s Laws and if you don’t listen to me you’re going to rot in the fires of ‘hell’, screaming for all eternity. So why do these people think it’s okay to do that to me?

What’s often worse is people telling me that I can still hold on to science and be a part of whatever religion they’re trying to sell. I consider this to be an obvious point: one can’t believe in both religion and science. You either believe the universe was created by the Big Bang OR God. You can’t believe both. Your faith is in either protons and electrons OR the bible. These are opposing conflicting theories. Both cannot exist at one time. You have to believe one or the other. There’s no room for both.

Science has a lot more going for it than any religion. God is like an adult version of the Easter Bunny and there is absolutely nothing to prove anything said in the bible is actually real. Science can be observed every day in real life. Science is the reason we have heating and air-conditioning and computers. Religion is the reason we have wars and innocent children die. Relgion never ‘saved’ anyone. Science saves lives every day through modern medicine.

I choose to believe in science. Others can choose to be a part of whatever religion they want to be, from christianity to Wicca. But just because that’s your choice, it will never be my choice. If you’re not going to respect that…well, consider yourself warned. There will be many smart arse comments in your near future. If you don’t respect my beliefs, why should I respect yours? So next time you’re telling me I’m taking God’s name in vain consider the fact that I could be going through every scrap of evidence there is to support science versus the nothing there is to support your religion. I could be reminding you that the beliefs you hold so dear kill people every day and have throughout history, that religion has destroyed families and lives and that it is actually laughable to believe what you believe, not to mention sexist. But I don’t preach to you all day every day. So stop calling me and stop knocking on my door.

I don’t want to buy your religion.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

