Skip to content

I hope you had the time of your life

August 6, 2009

The song I want played at my funeral is Green Day’s ‘Good Riddance (Time of Your Life)’. Is it weird that I think about things like this? Yeah, probably. But I really don’t want some idiot to play piano and sing some stupid lyrics that I hate at what’s supposed to be a celebration of my life. Actually, to be honest I don’t want a funeral at all because they’re depressing, but that’s a story for another time.

Yes, I am aware that this song is not neccessarily about death, but in fact a break-up. And yeah, I also accept that. That’s not the point. I mean a break-up is technically a death anyway, is it not? Death is not neccessarily something that only happens to things made from carbon. Anyway, songs have way more meaning than what’s on the surface. This song is about a break-up, it’s about death, it’s about life, it’s about bitterness, it’s about everything. And I love Green Day, so that’s why I want this song played at my funeral. I don’t think playing ‘Basket Case’ or ‘American Idiot’ would be entirely approriate, and I didn’t really like ‘Wake Me Up When September Ends’ for whatever reason. This is a song that has always tugged at my heartstrings, so make it the last thing people associate with me. And no, there’s no way I’d ever play it at a wedding. That’s just weird. It’s about an ending.

No comments yet

Leave a comment