Skip to content

Twitter Twits

August 1, 2009

I have to be honest. I don’t get twitter. Okay so maybe there isnt really anything to get exactly but I just…don’t get it. I mean I guess it’s kind of cool in a way. I like changing my facebook updates frequently so I suppose it’s kind of like that. And it is interesting to read other peoples tweets. It doesn’t take a lot of effort. Blogging for the lazy and those who don’t have much time or much to say. So maybe I do get it…

What I don’t get is…okay, let me give an example. The other day I was watching the news, and at the end they suggested viewers ‘follow us in twitter’. The news. The news is not the kind of program I expect to be on twitter. Anything about celebrities or diets, yes. The news? No. The news is supposed to be educational and informative, it’s not supposed to be affected by technology. Actually…I suppose the news has always been affected by changes in technology. I mean: paper, radio, TV, internet. Possibly the news is the first to flirt with new technology. So why am I so surprised the news is on twitter? Maybe because twitter still seems like a fad, and the news is certainly not a fad. Although these days it is all about entertainment…It’s just…I don’t know. The news and twitter don’t seem to go hand in hand. Just like the news shouldn’t have a facebook or a myspace. Maybe it’s just me. Maybe I’m the only person who finds this strange. And maybe twitter’s not a fad. Maybe it will replace…well, whatever existed before twitter.

One Comment leave one →

Trackbacks

  1. Celebritylife.org

Leave a Reply

