Skip to content

Curried egg and grilled cheese?

July 30, 2009

Lunchtime is basically a fiasco is my house. I’m the kind of person that gets sick of eating ham sandwiches everyday, so I’m constantly trying to invent new things to eat. And trust me when I say that in my house, that’s a challenge. The cupboards are stocked with pretty much the same thing every week. That’s because we have the same food every week. For example, Thursday night is spaghetti bolognaise night. Every week. Monday is burrito night. Every week. Actually, I believe we had burritos on Tuesday this week. That was a change. Anyway my point is basically that new, interesting food is hard to come by. That’s why I’m constantly coming up with new mixtures of things.

My latest great lunchtime invention would have to be the curried-egg-and-grilled-cheese sandwich. Whenever my grandma is around and I’m complaining about the usual ham sandwich she whips up a bunch of curried eggs for me. I’m not completely sure why hers always taste better than mine, it’s probably a grandma thing. Anyway she mixes boiled eggs, curry powder and mayonaise for me and I turn it into a sandwich. One day I was particularly hungry and so I added cheese on the top of the curried egg and wacked the sandwich under the griller to melt the cheese, because everyone knows cheese always tastes better melted. Plain cheese anyway. I wasn’t totally sure how it would turn out but when I bit into the sandwich, it was amazing! One of the best sandwiches I have ever eaten I’d have to say. Certainly the best of my recent ‘inventive’ lunches. Far better than that time I tried to mix cream of mushroom soup with a bunch of different things in my cupboard to made a nice pasta…that was just awful. Anyway I’d been feeling a bit disillusioned with my make-my-own lunches up until this point, but I have to say, my faith has now been restored!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

