Skip to content

Boredom, the mother of invention

July 26, 2009

Me, writing a blog? Since I’m pretty much technology illiterate it’s actually pretty amusing, but, here I am. Mostly I think it’s a boredom thing. I’m not looking forward to returning to university tomorrow, mostly because it means a 9am start. Personally I don’t believe anyone should have to start class at 9am. It’s insane, that’s why there’s never anyone at morning lectures. Hell, sometimes even the lecturers don’t show up. So anyway I should probably be in bed otherwise there’s no way I’ll be able to get up in the morning. On the other hand it’s still pretty early and since my body is used to falling asleep about the same time I have to get up tomorrow, there’s no way I’ll actually be able to sleep. It will just be me, staring at the ceiling for hours on end. And everyone knows that’s no fun. So basically I’m killing time. That’s why I’ve started a blog. Chances are, this will be my only entry. But you never know.

So what exactly am I planning to write in this blog? Well, pretty much anything and everything. I’m a very random person and have a lot of crazy thoughts swirling around in my head at any given moment. It’s nice to allow those thoughts to escape every now and then. Of course, I’ve kept a journal since I was about 10 for this very reason. It’s also for this reason that in my spare time I write poetry, songs and my ‘novel’. Truth be told it will never be published because it is so bad and also will likely never be finished. I don’t have the patience to run with the same idea for 100,000 words or whatever it takes to be classified as a novel. Anyway, when you have a brain that runs like mine, the more outlets the better. So that’s all this really is. An outlet. Oh, and a way to kill boredom. But I mentioned that already.

So, keeping in mind what I just said, I’m off to bed. If I spend the night staring at the ceiling I’m going to be extremely pissed off. And probably tired tomorrow. Oh well. What are lectures really for, other than sleeping?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. yadwb permalink
    July 26, 2009 1:46 pm

    I agree, lectures should be kept only in the afternoon! Even in my country they have the bad habit of starting them at 8:30 am, and considering the time needed for getting there, it means getting up at 6 am or so. I don’t know how people manage to do that everyday… with loads of coffee I guess?

    • sugar&spice permalink
      August 11, 2009 10:22 pm

      Caffeine, the drug of choice for uni students the world over…

Leave a Reply

